Salman Rushdie gets knighted. Iran seethes, whines.

(h/t: Brietbart)

UPDATE: Allahpundit and the regular gang of commenters at Hot Air have a few things to say about Iran’s little pity party in dishonor of Sir Salman. As Allahpundit puts it:

A bejeweled, white-gloved hand turns towards Tehran and slowly extends its middle finger

I knew it was bound to happen. I wonder how furious it would’ve made the Ayatollahs if this had happened right after the fatwa was issued after The Satanic Verses had been published. I read the novel shortly after its U.S. publication. I enjoyed it, but wasn’t as impressed by it as I was The Ground Beneath Her Feet 10 years later.

Putting it bluntly: the Ayatollah and Islamic Revolutionists really showed their asses when they announced the fatwa against Rushdie. Thing is, you think they’d have learned something by now.

UPDATE II: Well, that didn’t take long.

(h/t: Hot Air, again)

